Code Enforcement


 

Mission Statement

Code Enforcement is a division of the Planning and Zoning Department. The Code Enforcement Department is responsible for City Code and Zoning Ordinance standards. It is one of the top priorities in our City because violations can have a negative impact on surrounding property values, public safety and the overall appearance of our community.

Through voluntary compliance, cooperation, a spirit of personal responsibility and community pride, conditions that create code violations can be eliminated. These acts will make the City of Lebanon a better place to live.

 

iWorQ – Online Code Complaints/Permit Requests

You may access this program via your cell phone, as follows:

1. Install the app, iWorQ and then you are ready to set up your account.

2. At the next screen, when prompted to enter agency code, type: “Leb01” (case sensitive).

3. From here you may select either “Lebanon Code Complaints” or “Lebanon Permit Requests” and complete the information accordingly.

You may also access the program via your desktop, as follows:

1. Click on this link: https://lebanonin.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/lebanonin

2. Scroll to “Search for Code Complaints” or “New Code Complaint.”

3. Fill out the required information and attach a photo, if desired.

4. You will be sent an email and will have to verify your email address before you will be able to obtain a permit or issue a complaint.

5. Once you verify your email, you will be redirected to either the “complaint” form or the “permit” form. Once you have created an account, you may view any request you submit and track the progress accordingly.

Is Code Enforcement Important?

This short video provides an overview for what code enforcement means in communities across the country.

Generally speaking, a code enforcement officer is responsible for evaluating, educating and, of course enforcing local codes. This can be in the form of answering questions, issuing warnings or giving actual citations for code violations. Even though a part of the job does result in violations, code enforcement officers’ main objective is to ensure an attractive, lawful and safe community.

A few common code enforcement areas of interest include: unsightly lawns, excess signage, or illegal dumping and parking. Additionally, their duties may include business permits, zoning regulations, construction planning and condemning unsafe structures. Between enforcing ordinances, rules and regulations our cities cannot run efficiently without code enforcement.

Code enforcement is no longer just about property maintenance. It is now more about regulating nuisances that hinder a community. As new laws emerge and new problems appear, there has to be a group that addresses these issues. Unlike public safety personnel such as firefighters or law enforcement officers, a code enforcement officer’s role can vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. In one jurisdiction, a code enforcement officer may enforce one or all types of violations. These include: parking, animal, zoning, health, housing, property maintenance, business licensing, stormwater issues, building codes or other types of enforceable codes.

Generally, code enforcement officers are quasi law enforcement personnel who work for local or county government departments. They enforce their jurisdiction’s established code requirements, ordinances, and zoning laws, as well as any adopted codes such as state codes or model codes. Code enforcement officers frequently receive complaints from citizens, other city departments and outside agencies. They investigate those complaints and work with property owners to ensure that they comply with local regulations.

Code enforcement is an evolving field, always striving for new solutions to address new concerns, often times having to coordinate with different departments in a jurisdiction. Examples include, but are not limited to, public works, licensing, fire departments, building, finance, mayoral executive offices, city attorney, engineering, police or planning. There is no unique standard for where code enforcement belongs, because it works with all government offices to ensure neighborhoods are maintained and residents have a safe place to live.

For further questions about what code enforcement oversees in our community, please call 765.482.8845. Thank you!

Contact

401 S Meridian St
Lebanon, IN 46052

Phone: (765) 482-8845
Fax: (765) 482-8873

FAQ’s

Q: Who do I contact to report an issue with trees or shrubs obstructing traffic, rights of way, or sidewalks?

A: If you do not wish to report the matter through the City’s iWorQ portal, please contact the Lebanon Street Department. 

____________

Q: Who do I contact to report an issue with a parked vehicle?

A: If you do not wish to report the matter through the City’s iWorQ portal; both the Lebanon Police Department and the City’s Code Enforcement Division handle parked vehicles. You may report junked vehicles or improperly parked RV’s/commercial vehicles to the City’s Code Enforcement Division. You may report all other unlawfully parked vehicles to LPD.

___________
Q: Who do I contact to report accumulating trash and debris?

A: If you do not wish to report the matter through the City’s iWorQ portal, please contact the City’s Code Enforcement Division.

___________
Q: A house in our neighborhood has tall weeds and grass, can the City address this?

A: Yes, the City does have an unlawful weeds and grass ordinance. We encourage neighbors to help one another – perhaps a citizen is elderly and in need of help or maybe a family is gone on vacation. However, we do recognize some situations exist, such as a vacant house, etc. where it becomes necessary for the City to intervene. If you do not wish to report the matter through the City’s iWorQ portal, please contact the City’s Code Enforcement Division. 

News


 

Eli Lilly & Co. More Than Doubling Lebanon Investment

Eli Lilly & Co. More Than Doubling Lebanon Investment

Courtesy: IndyStar: Eli Lilly and Co., is more than doubling its investment in its Boone County manufacturing site to increase production of ingredients in its blockbuster weight loss and diabetes drugs. The expansion to produce the ingredients in Zepbound and Mounjaro will increase the cost of the project from $3.7 billion to $9 billion.

Staff


 

Makada Love : Code Enforcement Inspector

Makada Love

Code Enforcement Inspector

mlove@lebanon.in.gov
Kristi Spencer : Executive Assistant

Kristi Spencer

Executive Assistant

kspencer@lebanon.in.gov

Joe LePage :

Joe LePage

[email protected]
765-485-3004

 

City Employee Since: December, 2014

Prior to the Mayor’s Office:

Boone County Economic Development Corporation, Fox 59 Television, WLFI TV-18

Community Organizations/Boards Served:

  • City Liaison/The Heart of Lebanon(Indiana Main Street Organization)
  • Board Member/Witham Foundation

Personal Profile:

Grew up in Delphi, Indiana. Lived in: Alabama, Colorado, Montana, Nebraska, Texas, and Indiana.

Married, with three children.

 

Other Information:

  • Head Coach/Lebanon High School Boys & Girls Tennis
Kelly Cook :

Kelly Cook

[email protected]

City Employee Since: 2010

Prior to the Mayor’s Office: 2010-2015 Lebanon Parks Department as the Programs Director

 

Community Organizations/Boards Served: Symphony at Sunset, Boone County 4th of July Committee, Heart of Lebanon Group

 

Personal Profile: I was born and raised in Lebanon. I have three teenage children.

 

Other Information

  • Head of High School Prom Committee
  • Member of Touchdown Club
Matthew Gentry : Mayor, City of Lebanon

Matthew Gentry

Mayor, City of Lebanon

mayorgentry@lebanon.in.gov
Bill Stoner : Lebanon Board of Works

Bill Stoner

Lebanon Board of Works

Jane Taylor :

Jane Taylor

Bruce Pauley :

Bruce Pauley

Laurie Gross :

Laurie Gross

Ron Edwards :

Ron Edwards

Gordon Perry :

Gordon Perry

Chad Kyker :

Chad Kyker

Karen Galvin :

Karen Galvin

Richard Milam :

Richard Milam

Kevin Richards :

Kevin Richards

Barby Strange :

Barby Strange

Barb Sears :

Barb Sears

Aaron Wilhoite :

Aaron Wilhoite

Lorrie Monn :

Lorrie Monn

Eric Ragsdale :

Eric Ragsdale

Lori French :

Lori French

Steve Day :

Steve Day

Charlotte Frandsen :

Charlotte Frandsen

Diane Scott :

Diane Scott

Shirley McClaine :

Shirley McClaine

John Lasley :

John Lasley

Mike Burns :

Mike Burns

mike@meskb.com
Brian Tandy :

Brian Tandy

Matt Reynolds :

Matt Reynolds

Sierra Messenger : Lebanon City Council - At-Large

Sierra Messenger

Lebanon City Council - At-Large

Sierra.Messenger@Lebanon.IN.gov
Jason Nicolaou :

Jason Nicolaou

Dr. Robert Taylor :

Dr. Robert Taylor

Mia Riley : First Deputy Clerk

Mia Riley

First Deputy Clerk

mriley@lebanon.in.gov
Cindy Thrine : First Deputy Clerk

Cindy Thrine

First Deputy Clerk

cthrine@lebanon.in.gov
Tonya Thayer : Clerk Treasurer

Tonya Thayer

Clerk Treasurer

tthayer@lebanon.in.gov
Morris Jones : Lebanon City Council - District 3

Morris Jones

Lebanon City Council - District 3

MrJones@lebanon.in.gov
Brent Wheat (City Council President) : Lebanon City Council - At-Large

Brent Wheat (City Council President)

Lebanon City Council - At-Large

BWheat@Lebanon.IN.gov
John Copeland : Lebanon City Council - District 5

John Copeland

Lebanon City Council - District 5

JCopeland@lebanon.in.gov
Mike Kincaid : Lebanon City Council - District 1

Mike Kincaid

Lebanon City Council - District 1

MKincaid@lebanon.in.gov
Dr. Jon Milleman :

Dr. Jon Milleman

Corey Kutz : Redevelopment Commission President

Corey Kutz

Redevelopment Commission President

Chuck Batts : Fire Chief

Chuck Batts

Fire Chief

cbatts@lebanon.in.gov
Jason Hendricks : Deputy Chief of Administration

Jason Hendricks

Deputy Chief of Administration

jhendricks@lebanon.in.gov
Mike Baird : Deputy Chief of Administration

Mike Baird

Deputy Chief of Administration

mbaird@lebanon.in.gov
Chad Morgan : Police Chief

Chad Morgan

Police Chief

cmorgan@lebanon.in.gov
Brad Bailey : Sergeant

Brad Bailey

Sergeant

bbailey@lebanon.in.gov
David Newell : Director of Street and Stormwater Departments

David Newell

Director of Street and Stormwater Departments

dnewell@lebanon.in.gov
John Messenger :  Parks Director

John Messenger

Parks Director

jmessenger@lebanon.in.gov
Taylor Orr : Office Manager

Taylor Orr

Office Manager

torr@lebanon.in.gov
Allyson Morton : Programs Director

Allyson Morton

Programs Director

amorton@lebanon.in.gov
Ben Bontrager : Planning Director

Ben Bontrager

Planning Director

bbontrager@lebanon.in.gov
Derek Warren : Deputy Director

Derek Warren

Deputy Director

dwarren@lebanon.in.gov
Makada Love : Code Enforcement Inspector

Makada Love

Code Enforcement Inspector

mlove@lebanon.in.gov
Kristi Spencer : Executive Assistant

Kristi Spencer

Executive Assistant

kspencer@lebanon.in.gov
Jim Morog :

Jim Morog

Casey Samson : Historic Preservation Commission

Casey Samson

Historic Preservation Commission

George Piper : Historic Preservation Commission

George Piper

Historic Preservation Commission

Linda Ridgway : Historic Preservation Commission

Linda Ridgway

Historic Preservation Commission

Dan Fleming :

Dan Fleming

Lana Fairfield : Stormwater Administrative Assistant

Lana Fairfield

Stormwater Administrative Assistant

lfairfield@lebanon.in.gov
David Newell : Director of Street and Stormwater Departments

David Newell

Director of Street and Stormwater Departments

dnewell@lebanon.in.gov
Kevin Krulik : City Engineer

Kevin Krulik

City Engineer

kkrulik@lebanon.in.gov
dlfjdljfdj :

dlfjdljfdj

Judge Becky McClure : Lebanon Board of Works

Judge Becky McClure

Lebanon Board of Works

Allen Milburn : Lebanon Board of Works

Allen Milburn

Lebanon Board of Works

Jessica Lollar :

Jessica Lollar

Michelle Granat : Deputy Clerk-Treasurer

Michelle Granat

Deputy Clerk-Treasurer

mgranat@lebanon.in.gov
Mark Vanaman :

Mark Vanaman

Ashley Paddack :

Ashley Paddack

Nicole Wethington : Historic Preservation Commission

Nicole Wethington

Historic Preservation Commission

Scott Sewell : Historic Preservation Commission

Scott Sewell

Historic Preservation Commission

Tony Bayles : Assistant Police Chief

Tony Bayles

Assistant Police Chief

tbayles@lebanon.in.gov
Ruthie Armas : Administrative Assistant

Ruthie Armas

Administrative Assistant

rarmas@lebanon.in.gov
Tyson Warmoth : Captain

Tyson Warmoth

Captain

twarmoth@lebanon.in.gov
Rich Mount : Major of Road Operations

Rich Mount

Major of Road Operations

rmount@lebanon.in.gov
Scott Hood : Major of Administration / Accreditation Manager

Scott Hood

Major of Administration / Accreditation Manager

shood@lebanon.in.gov
Aaron Altier : Captain

Aaron Altier

Captain

aaltier@lebanon.in.gov
Tommy Nash : Captain

Tommy Nash

Captain

snash@lebanon.in.gov
Ben Phelps : Lieutenant

Ben Phelps

Lieutenant

bphelps@lebanon.in.gov
Justin Knox : Lieutenant

Justin Knox

Lieutenant

jknox@lebanon.in.gov
Ryan Williamson : Lieutenant

Ryan Williamson

Lieutenant

rwilliamson@lebanon.in.gov
Justin Fuston : Detective

Justin Fuston

Detective

jfuston@lebanon.in.gov
Amy Dickerson : Assistant Chief

Amy Dickerson

Assistant Chief

adickerson@lebanon.in.gov
Jeff Nelson : Detective Captain

Jeff Nelson

Detective Captain

jnelson@lebanon.in.gov
Bryan Spencer : Detective Lieutenant

Bryan Spencer

Detective Lieutenant

bspencer@lebanon.in.gov
Ted Boling : Sergeant

Ted Boling

Sergeant

tboling@lebanon.in.gov
Jason Morgan : Patrolman

Jason Morgan

Patrolman

jmorgan@lebanon.in.gov
Austin Scott : Patrolman

Austin Scott

Patrolman

ascott@lebanon.in.gov
Andrew Hampshire : Patrolman

Andrew Hampshire

Patrolman

ahampshire@lebanon.in.gov
Tim Edmonds : Patrolman

Tim Edmonds

Patrolman

tedmonds@lebanon.in.gov
Jamason Wright : Patrolman

Jamason Wright

Patrolman

jwright@lebanon.in.gov
James Koontz : Sergeant

James Koontz

Sergeant

jkoontz@lebanon.in.gov
Trey Hendrix : Detective

Trey Hendrix

Detective

thendrix@lebanon.in.gov
Frank Noland : Patrolman

Frank Noland

Patrolman

fnoland@lebanon.in.gov
Austin McCloskey : Patrolman

Austin McCloskey

Patrolman

amccloskey@lebanon.in.gov
Aaron Carlson : Patrolman

Aaron Carlson

Patrolman

acarlson@lebanon.in.gov
Braxton Du Bois : Patrolman

Braxton Du Bois

Patrolman

bdubois@lebanon.in.gov
Tyreese Griffin : Patrolman

Tyreese Griffin

Patrolman

tgriffin@lebanon.in.gov
Tre Comage : Patrolman

Tre Comage

Patrolman

tcomage@lebanon.in.gov

©2024 City of Lebanon

website design DevLab Creative

Thank you for your upload